top of page
  • Office of Experiential Education

Preceptor Spotlight

Meet Cory Conto, PharmD, a AAHIVP certified pharmacist, and MCW School of Pharmacy preceptor




Please introduce yourself.

Hello, I am Cory Conto, an AAHIVP certified pharmacist with Vivent Pharmacy, a company specializing in treating HIV/AIDS.


What rotations do your precept?

I precept the APPE rotations in the dispensing pharmacy at the Milwaukee, Wisconsin location. I became a preceptor to share my passion and expertise for treating people affected by this disease state with the next generation of pharmacists.

What are the benefits of precepting?

As a preceptor, I find it incredibly rewarding to lead students' learning regarding anti-retroviral therapy and treating/preventing opportunistic infections. This is an area where typically not a lot of time is spent in classes, and there is a lot that can be learned in the 6-week rotation with Vivent. I also find that many times students have a lot to teach back to me, updating my knowledge base with emerging therapies and the newest guidelines.


What advice and tips do you have for new students?

My advice to students starting rotations is to absorb all the knowledge and experience possible during your time in the “real world classroom.” Truly make the rotations your own by working outside your comfort zone, asking a lot of questions, and using every moment available to further your career.

Featured Content
bottom of page