top of page
  • Office of Experiential Education

PRECEPTOR SPOTLIGHT

Meet Mazen Seddick, PharmD

The Preceptor Spotlight features pharmacists on our preceptor team. Mazen was one of the nominees for APPE Preceptor of the Year. Thank you for sharing your insights!




What do you want other preceptors to know about you?


I have over eight years of retail pharmacy experience and am the owner and pharmacist-in-charge at Uptown Pharmacy & Wellness in Shorewood. I derive great satisfaction from what I do and am passionate about educating my patients in all aspects of their health and wellness.


What rotations do you precept?


I precept both IPPE and APPE students and enjoy guiding them through the different stages of their pharmacy journey. I pride myself in showing my student pharmacists how fulfilling the world of retail pharmacy is and how important a pharmacist can be in every encounter.


Why did you choose pharmacy?


My pursuit of pharmacy came from a love of chemistry and my passion for being part of a medical team. As a pharmacist, I have direct access to patients, and I enjoy that personal connection and the relationships I foster. Patients are more at ease talking with their pharmacist about health issues and personal problems, and I find it very satisfying to listen, offer advice, and be able to help. I find building relationships with my customers and patients to be a noble and fulfilling part of my role as a pharmacist.


What are the benefits of precepting?


As a pharmacy student, I was so grateful for all the time and energy my preceptors gave to me and decided then that I would give back to students when I became a pharmacist. Now that I am a preceptor, I find great enjoyment conversing with my students and getting to know them. I always learn from them and I try to teach at least one thing each day that they will be able to use in their career as pharmacists.


What advice and tips do you have for new preceptors?


My advice for preceptors is to always be patient with your students and teach them with passion. Our profession requires great knowledge, persistence, and a demand to provide precise care for each and every patient. As a preceptor, always try to keep it simple and organized for your student; give them the opportunity to speak and to make mistakes and corrections. Let your student state their opinion and be sure to listen – students are very resourceful and their exposure to different settings is always a learning opportunity for you, the preceptor!



Featured Content
bottom of page