top of page
  • Office of Experiential Education

Preceptor Spotlight: Derek Hsu, PharmD, MBA



What do you want other preceptors to know about you?

 

Hi All! My name is Derek Hsu, and I currently serve as a clinical pharmacist at Froedtert Menomonee Falls Hospital. I have been with Froedtert Health (and precepted MCW School of Pharmacy students) since 2016, which briefly overlapped my 11-year stretch as a pediatric clinical pharmacist at Children’s Wisconsin. I graduated from Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences with my PharmD/MBA in 2007. I’m Wisconsin born and raised by way of Whitefish Bay and Delafield and obsess over all things Wisconsin sports (Go Pack, Bucks and Brewers!).

  

What rotations do you precept?

I precept APPE students on their Acute Care and required Hospital (Central Pharmacy) rotations.

 

Why did you choose pharmacy?


I have had a rooted interest in health and medicine for as long as I can remember. Surprisingly, however, when it came time to consider possible career choices heading into college in 2000, I was at a bit of a standstill. After conferring with my family, I took a pharmacy technician role at Children’s Wisconsin. I spent the next 18 years of my professional life at Children’s Wisconsin as a technician, intern and pharmacist working alongside some of the best providers, nurses, mentors and friends.

 

Pharmacy also runs in my family. My father, Philip Hsu, was a pharmacist and part of the Froedtert family for nearly 15 years. I was afforded so many unique opportunities as a child watching my father in his work element. These experiences instilled a lot of that aforementioned interest in healthcare. Much of who I am, at and away from the workplace, comes from observing, firsthand, what it takes to be a respected and successful professional.

 

Why did you become a preceptor? 


Working primarily as a 2nd/3rd shift pharmacist prior to my start at Froedtert Menomonee Falls Hospital, opportunities for student learners were few and far between. Whenever student learners did join me on PMs, I always found myself enjoying the impartment of clinical knowledge in addition to “meeting and greeting” the future of our profession. Not long after joining the team at Froedtert, I knew I would take advantage of all opportunities to precept students. Along the way, I’ve been able to meet some incredibly bright minds and, more importantly, wonderful people.

 

What advice do you have for new preceptors?

 

Some of the best advice I received as a young preceptor is to consider yourself a learner as much as the student you are precepting. It takes time to develop your teaching style and learn how to foster a positive learning environment. I am 8 years in as a preceptor and continue to tweak the methods by which I teach on a rotation-by-rotation basis. Learning as a young preceptor also involves understanding and rectifying constructive criticisms from your students. These criticisms can be the key to unlocking and establishing a rotation that students look forward to experiencing.




 

Featured Content
bottom of page